Phil Mickelson committed a freaky penalty at the US Open on Saturday when he putted a ball a second time before the ball had stopped moving.
On Saturday, after carding a 10 on the infamous hole and an 81 for the third round, Mickelson explained his actions by saying, "At that time, I didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over".
That earned him a two-stroke penalty.
During a third round which saw firm, fast conditions and some questionable pin positions send scores soaring, Mickelson admitted he deliberately hit a moving ball to gain an advantage.
Fowler said that he didn't know "if I would have had the wits like Phil to run after it" on 13, but added that it never should have come to that in the first place.
"If someone is offended I apologise but toughen up", Mickelson said.
The USGA invoked Rule 14-5 which states a player "must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving". "I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display". It's something you might see at our home course with your mates or something.
Disney makes $70.3 billion counterbid for Twenty-First Century Fox
Comcast's current bid was already poised to load the company up with debt, and its shares have fallen 18 per cent this year. That outcome is expected to spur a wave of media consolidation, emboldening companies to get more aggressive with deals.
Argentina didn't draw because of Messi's missed penalty - Maradona
"We will respect all our opponents, particularly Argentina , but we will not adjust to them", he told reporters."We will play our style".
Another record! Second World Cup's quickest red card
Keisuke Honda is the first player from an Asian nation to provide an assist in three different World Cup tournaments since 1966. The 2-1 victory over Colombia on Tuesday (Wednesday NZ Time ) was another surprising result in an unpredictable tournament.
"John Daly's reputation took a hit after what he did at Pinehurst in '99 and I fear it will be the same for Phil", said former U.S. Golf Association executive director David Fay.
"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates", Davis said, via Randall Mell of the Gold Channel. As his bogey putt on the par-4 was going by the cup, he decided he didn't want to play "Army golf" (left, right, left, right) and whacked it back toward the hole. And if that's the way people took it, I apologize to them.
The incident will always dog the colourful and often controversial Californian - he later told critics to "toughen up" - but Mickelson's mad-cap moment was just the start on a insane day at Shinnecock Hills. "If that is not a serious breach of the etiquette of the game, I don't know what is". "It just happened. I said, 'That's one of the strangest things I've ever seen, ' and then just started laughing, to be honest".
"I would probably do it myself, but I'm not a professional, and not in the U.S. Open", said Christine Lloyd.
Mickelson insisted he was not frustrated by the more hard hole locations in the third round.
"I know the rules and the ball was going to go off in a bad spot". He had those four consecutive bogeys before a par at the 12th.
Zach Johnson said the USGA "lost the course".